Skip Navigation LinksHome > Studies > A4 Study  
 

                                                  

You can read additional information about the A4 Study on the A4 Study website!

HTTP://A4Study.org

What is the A4 Study?
The A4 Study is a clinical study for older individuals (ages 65-85) who have normal thinking and memory function but who may be at risk for developing Alzheimer's disease (AD) memory loss sometime in the future. The A4 study is for people without any outward signs of Alzheimer's disease, and is designed to evaluate the effectiveness, safety and tolerability of an investigational drug for AD. The purpose of the Anti-Amyloid Treatment in Asymptomatic Alzheimer’s study (the”A4 study” for short) is to test whether a new investigational treatment can slow the memory loss caused by Alzheimer’s disease. The overall goal of the A4 study is to test whether decreasing amyloid with antibody investigational treatment can help slow the memory loss associated with amyloid buildup in some people.

The A4 Study lasts for three years, and participants will be assigned at random to receive either the investigational drug or a placebo and will be monitored over that period.

In general, you may be eligible to join the A4 Study if you:

  • Are 65 to 85 years old
  • Have normal thinking and memory abilities
  • Have a study partner (someone who has weekly contact with you and is willing to answer questions once a year).

The A4 Study will begin to enroll participants at more than 60 sites throughout the U.S. and Canada and in Australia beginning in the Spring of 2014. Please visit A4Study.org for additional information. We expect sites across North America to be ready to screen and enroll study participants during the first half 2014.

Meet the A4 Principal Investigator

Reisa Sperling, M.D. is a Professor in Neurology at Harvard Medical School and the Director of the Center for Alzheimer Research and Treatment at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. She is a board certified neurologist who has been working in cognitive aging and Alzheimer's disease research for over 15 years. Her imaging work is focused on elucidating the neural underpinnings of memory loss and detecting the earliest brain changes associated with early Alzheimer's disease. She is the Principal Investigator on a National Institute on Aging (NIA) funded Program Project: the Harvard Aging Brain Study and serves as the Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Program at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Sperling had the honor of serving as the Chair of the NIA-Alzheimer’s Association working group to develop the research criteria for “Preclinical Alzheimer’s disease” published in 2011.

Dr. Sperling leads the is the Project Director of the A4 Study . You can learn more about Dr. Sperling’s work by following the link below to the Massachusetts ADRC.

Who is sponsoring the A4 Study?

The A4 study is a landmark public-private partnership, funded by the National Institute on Aging, Eli Lilly and Company, and several philanthropic organizations. The A4 trial is coordinated by the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study, located at the University of California, San Diego.

Contact the A4 Study
Email: Brainlink@ucsd.edu

(Please note that due to a high level of interest in the A4 study, there may be a delay in sites responding to inquiries. Every effort is being made to follow up with potential participants as quickly as possible. To help speed the process, please contact study sites by email versus phone, if possible. We thank you for your interest in the A4 study.)


U.S. Clinical Study Research Sites Participating in the A4 Study:


StateCitySiteContactTelephoneEmail
ALBirminghamUniversity of Alabama, BirminghamDenise Ledlow(205)934-6223pdledlow@uab.edu
AZPhoenixBanner Alzheimer's InstituteCandy Monarrez(602)839-6939candy.monarrez@bannerhealth.com
AZSun CityBanner Sun Health Research InstituteMolly Goddard(623)832-5726molly.goddard@bannerhealth.com
CAIrvineUC Irvine - Institute for Memory Impairments & Neurological DisordersBeatriz Yanez(949)824-3250byanez@uci.edu
CALa JollaUniversity of California, San DiegoChristina Gigliotti(858)822-4800cgigliotti@ucsd.edu
CALos AngelesUniversity of Southern CaliforniaMauricio Becerra(323)442-7594mjbecerr@usc.edu
CALos AngelesUniversity of California, Los AngelesCeline Ossinalde(310)794-6191cossinalde@mednet.ucla.edu
CAOrangeUniversity of California, Irvine - Neuropsychiatric CenterAndrea Weideman(714)456-5697andrea.weideman@uci.edu
CAPalo AltoStanford University School of MedicineTamara Beale650-852-3234tbeale@stanford.edu
CARichmondUniversity of California, DavisKatharine Vieira(916)803-3066kevieira@ucdavis.edu
CASan FranciscoUniversity of California, San FranciscoEmmeline Chuu(415)476-0671echuu@memory.ucsf.edu
CTNew HavenYale University School of MedicineBarbaralynn Moseman(203)764-8100barbaralynn.moseman@yale.edu
DCWashingtonGeorgetown UniversityErica Christian(202)687-8800ec912@georgetown.edu
DCWashingtonHoward UniversitySaba Wolday(202)865-7895swolday@howard.edu
FLJacksonvilleMayo Clinic, JacksonvilleDana Haley(904)953-9680haley.dana@mayo.edu
FLMiami BeachWien Center for Clinical ResearchMaria Greig-Custo(305)674-2121 Ext. 54480Maria.Greig-Custo@msmc.com
FLPalm BeachPremiere Research InstituteDaisy Acevedo(561)845-0500 ext 124d.acevedo@palmbeachneurology.com
FLTampaUniversity of South Florida - Health Byrd Alzheimer InstituteKelly Rodrigo(813)974-4904krodrig5@health.usf.edu
GAAtlantaEmory UniversityGail Schwartz(404)728-6395gschwar@emory.edu
IAIowa CityUniversity of IowaKaren Smith(319)353-5158karen-ekstam@uiowa.edu
ILChicagoNorthwestern UniversityKristine Lipowski(312)503-2486k-lipowski@northwestern.edu
ILChicagoRush University Medical CenterKaroll Meza312.942.2312Karoll_Meza@rush.edu
INIndianapolisIndiana UniversityNancy McClaskey(317)963-7429nmcclask@iupui.edu
KSKansas CityUniversity of KansasAiden Bondurant(913)945-7671abondurant@kumc.edu
KYLexingtonUniversity of KentuckySarah Tarrant(859)323-1331sarah.tarrant@uky.edu
MABostonBrigham and Women's HospitalMartha Vander Vliet(617)278-0379mvandervliet@partners.org
MABostonBoston UniversityJane Mwicigi(617)638-5670jmwicigi@bu.edu
MDBaltimoreJohns Hopkins UniversitySarah Woody(410)550-9054swoody1@jhmi.edu
MIAnn ArborUniversity of Michigan, Ann ArborJoanne Lord(734)647-7760jllord@umich.edu
MNRochesterMayo Clinic, RochesterSara Mason(507)284-1324a4study@mayo.edu
MOSt. LouisWashington University, St. LouisPamela Millsap(314)286-2363millsapp@abraxas.wustl.edu
NCWinston-SalemWake Forest University Health SciencesErin caulder(336)713-8847ecaulder@wakehealth.edu
NEOmahaUniversity of Nebraska Medical CenterBarbara Bayer(402)552-6005blbayer@unmc.edu
NVLas VegasCleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain HealthMichelle Sholar(702)483-6026sholarm@ccf.org
NYAmherstDent Neurologic InstituteCaroline Kumm716-558-3492ckumm@dentinstitute.com
NYNew YorkMount Sinai School of MedicineMichael Kinsella(212)659-8883michael.kinsella@mssm.edu
NYNew YorkColumbia UniversityRuth Tejeda(212)305-7661rbt41@cumc.columbia.edu
NYNew YorkNew York University Medical CenterBrittany Cerbone(212)263-5845Brittany.cerbone@nyumc.org
NYNew YorkWeill Cornell Memory Disorders ProgramGabriella Arth(212)746-6580gaa3002@med.cornell.edu
NYOrangeburgNathan Kline Institute for Psychiatric ResearchRaymundo Hernando(845) 398-5578hernando@nki.rfmh.org
NYRochesterUniversity of Rochester Medical CenterSusan Salem-Spencer(585)760-6562susan_salem-spencer@urmc.rochester.edu
OHClevelandCase Western Reserve UniversityMaria Gross(216)464-6454Maria.Gross@uhhospitals.org
OKTulsaTulsa Clinical ResearchChristy Lisenbee(918)743-2349Christyl@tulsaclinicalresearch.com
ORPortlandOregon Health & Science UniversityLisa Loree(503)494-7615adresearch@ohsu.edu
PAPhiladelphiaDrexel University College of MedicineKatie Rife(215) 255-7372Katherine.Rife@DrexelMed.edu
PAPhiladelphiaUniversity of PennsylvaniaJessica Nunez-Lopez(215)662-4379Jessica.Nunez@uphs.upenn.edu
PAPittsburghUniversity of PittsburghKaty Zorich(412)692-2730orchowskik3@upmc.edu
RIProvidenceButler Hospital Memory and Aging ProgramDiane Monast(401)455-6403dmonast@butler.org
RIProvidenceRhode Island HospitalKerstin Calia(401)444-9861kcalia@lifespan.org
SCCharlestonRoper St. Francis HospitalCatherine Danner & Jessica Huggins(843)724-2302catherine.danner@rsfh.com & jessica.huggins@rsfh.com
SCCharlestonRoper St. Francis HospitalCatherine Danner & Jessica Huggins(843)724-2302catherine.danner@rsfh.com & jessica.huggins@rsfh.com
TXDallasUniversity of Texas, Southwestern MC at DallasKathleen Koch(214)648-9343kathleen.koch@utsouthwestern.edu
TXHoustonBaylor College of MedicineKimberley Brown(713)798-5385kdbrown@bcm.edu
WASeattleUniversity of WashingtonAnita Ranta(206)764-2339rantaa@uw.edu
WIMadisonUniversity of WisconsinBen Farral(608)256-1901 ext 11640bofarral@medicine.wisc.edu

Canada Clinical Study Research Sites Participating in the A4 Study:


StateCitySiteContactTelephoneEmail
British ColumbiaVancouverUniversity of British Columbia, Clinic for AD & RelatedBenita Mudge(604)822-7990benita.mudge@vch.ca
OntarioLondonParkwood HospitalPatricia Sargeant(519)685-4292 Ext. 42896Patricia.sargeant@sjhc.london.on.ca
OntarioTorontoToronto Memory ProgramTamara Boric(416)386-9606tboric@memorydisorders.ca
OntarioTorontoSunnybrook Health Sciences CentreJoanne Lawrence(416) 480-6108joanne.lawrence@sunnybrook.ca

Australia Clinical Study Research Sites Participating in the A4 Study:


StateCitySiteContactTelephoneEmail
VictoriaMelbourneUniversity of MelbourneMaree Mastwyk+61 3 9389 2943maree.mastwyk@florey.edu.au